Bennis Welt

Pirat, Physiker, Free Software Nerd

[Poll] still interest in optimized binaries?

with 9 comments

As I moved completely to linux now, I’d like to know how big the interest in precompiled CPU optimzed dcraw binaries still is. If there is enough I could try to set up the buildsystem on my father’s or my brother’s windows box. So if you still care please let me know.

Written by benniswelt

Februar 27, 2006 um 16:14

Veröffentlicht in Uncategorized

Tagged with

9 Antworten

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. yes, I still care.
    I would like to move myself to linux but as far as I know the gimp can’t handle 48 bit color depth images
    so, in the meanwhile… I do appreciate your help!

    andrew

    Februar 28, 2006 at 11:42

  2. thanks for your input!

    maybe Krita will do in the meantime:
    http://www.koffice.org/krita/

    Benni

    Februar 28, 2006 at 11:45

  3. Yes please continue

    thank you

    JoeBLight

    März 8, 2006 at 02:28

  4. come on guys, only two persons in two weeks, I’m a bit disappointed…

    Benni

    März 9, 2006 at 21:39

  5. Hallo,
    Following the weblinks to dcraw I came to this site. I noticed a speed gain of more than 20% with processor optimized dcraw compilation. I use the gcc of the cygwin system for windows. The compiler switch -mfpmath=sse made dcraw more than 15% faster compared to standart -mfpmath=387 on my system.
    ( gcc -o dcraw -O4 dcraw.c -lm -DNO_JPEG -DNO_LCMS -mcpu=athlon-xp -mfpmath=sse)

    I’m not sure wether this shows effect of the picture quality. Are there experiences about this?

    gnupublic

    März 10, 2006 at 09:27

  6. Owning a fuji e900, I appreciate your work and would like you continue too!

    Olivier

    März 11, 2006 at 14:21

  7. Hi Benni

    yes, please go on!

    Marcel

    März 14, 2006 at 11:58

  8. Same as Andrew (28 Feb 06), and there is a whole world out there of Windows users who NEED to know about and use/support/love open source software and be encouraged to use it, EVEN on Windows. Maybe then they will be encouraged to move permanently to Linux.

    Chris Bennie

    März 17, 2006 at 05:54

  9. Yes!
    Although I have BSD-box at home, some photos for my office need to be done at the work, on Windows machine, and really I’d prefer ufraw+dcraw for this!

    Andrey

    März 27, 2006 at 10:06


Schreibe einen Kommentar

